When you install Wine Ring and upon your first use of certain features, our application may ask you for permissions. We would like to share with you how these permissions work and why we need them. Please know that we take privacy very seriously and only ask for the minimum amount needed to provide you with functionalities to help you use our platform.

NOTIFICATIONS

When you first launch Wine Ring we ask for permissions to send you notifications. If we are to respond to you via the application, such as for in-app tech support questions, or to let you know when friends want to connect, we need to access the iOS notifications feature. Apple requires us to get your permissions before we can do this. Clicking Allow will enable this feature.

CAMERA

When you first attempt to use your camera within Wine Ring, such as taking a photo of a wine label, you will be asked to give us permission to access your camera. If you do not enable this feature, you will not be able to use label recognition or any features using your camera. We only access your camera when you select a functionality that requires your camera. Click OK to enable camera access.

PHOTOS

When you first try to access your camera within Wine Ring, it will also ask for permission to access your photos. When you use your camera to take a photo in Wine Ring, such as when taking a photo of a wine label, we save a copy of this photo to your Photo Library on your phone. This way you have the photo for use in other applications. In order to write to your library, we need this access.

In addition, when accessing camera/photo functions, we also enable you to select an image out of your photo library, such as a photo of a wine label that you may have taken outside of the Wine Ring application. In order to access your photo library, we need you to provide us with this access.

We do not collect or use the photos in your library. We only access a specific photo that you select from your library to access within Wine Ring. We are not grabbing all of your photos or collection other information on you from these photos.

You do not need to authorize this feature to use your camera but understand that photos you take will not be saved to your photo library unless you do. And you will not be able to access prior taken photos if you do not enable this permission. Click Allow Access to All Photos to authorize access to your photo library. NOTE: If you click Select Photos... we will only be able to select those specific photos for presenting to you within the application but will not be able to save your newly taken photos to your camera roll.

CONTACTS

If you select to use your phone's address book to connect with your friends, we need access to your phone book in order to look for email addresses that match registered users. We will show you which users are registered that you can connect with.

For any contact that is not a registered user, we give you an option to send them an email to join. This email comes from you and is composed by you.

We do not store or mine your email addresses for any other purposes and we do not collect or store any other information from your address book.

You do not need to enable this permission to use any other features in Wine Ring. It is only triggered if you click to add contacts by clicking the + icon on this screen:

and then click the button to "Import Contacts":

Click OK to enable access to your address book.

LOCATION

The first time you access a feature that requires Wine Ring to know your location, the locations permission request is displayed. For example, if you want to find retail inventories or wine lists near you, we would need to access your location. We also need to know your location if you want to find locations near you when rating wines.

PLEASE NOTE: We do not track your location when you are not using the application.

Click Allow While Using App to enable location-based functionalities.

Did this answer your question?